Skip to main content

Non-Executive Directors

Non-Executive Directors

Non-executive directors play an important role in the governance of the Supreme Court and JCPC. They provide independent insight and an experienced voice at Management Board level to complement our executive team.

The Supreme Court and JCPC has two non-executive directors.

Kathryn Cearns, Non-Executive Director

Kathryn Cearns OBE

Kathryn was appointed as a non-executive director of the UK Supreme Court in October 2017 and is the Chair of our Audit and Risk Committee.

A chartered accountant with extensive senior level experience in both the public and private sectors. Kathryn was chairman of the Financial Reporting Advisory Board to HM Treasury from 2010 to 2016 and was Chairman of the ICAEW Financial Reporting Committee for 10 years up to the end of 2017. Her past roles include as a project director at the UK Accounting Standards Board (now the Financial Reporting Council) and for many years as the consultant accountant for an international law firm.

Kathryn currently holds a number of non-executive, trustee and advisory appointments most notably as a member of the External Audit Committee at the International Monetary Fund, a non-executive director at Highways England and a member of the Group Audit and Risk Committee at the Department for Transport, a non-executive board member and member of the Audit Committee at Companies House, a non-executive director at The Property Ombudsman and as a trustee of Royal British Legion Industries. She is also on the Council of the ICAEW.

Tim Slater, Non-Executive Director

Tim Slater

Tim was appointed as a non-executive director of the UK Supreme Court in August 2019.

He has a background in leading corporate IT and in project management, and has worked as a university lecturer. He is a Chartered Engineer, Fellow of the British Computer Society, and a Fellow of the Higher Education Authority.

His experience includes working for large public sector organisations such as Royal Mail and the NHS, as well as for smaller private sector companies. Tim recently returned to university to study for a Master's in Finance and Accounting.

Tim is also a non-executive director and member of the audit and risk committee for a large housing provider in the East Midlands.

As well as being a member of the Management Board and Audit and Risk Committee, Tim chairs the UKSC Remuneration Committee.