Selection commission

Selection commission

Vacancy for three Justices of The Supreme Court

An ad hoc selection commission has been established under section 27 and schedule 8 of the Constitutional Reform Act 2005 (the Act) to select candidates to be recommended for appointment as Justices of the Supreme Court. There is one immediate vacancy created by Lord Dyson's appointment as Master of the Rolls. Further vacancies will arise in March 2013 when Lord Walker retires, and in June 2013 when Lord Hope retires. The selection commission is anxious to attract applications from the widest field, and in making recommendations will bear in mind the nature of the work done by the Court and the way it is likely to develop over the next few years.

The statutory minimum qualification for appointment is to have held high judicial office for a period of at least two years, or to have satisfied the judicial appointment eligibility condition on a 15-year basis or to have been a qualifying practitioner for a period of at least 15 years. By convention there have for many years been two Scottish Law Lords and, more recently, two Scottish Justices of the Supreme Court. On Lord Hope's retirement, Lord Reed will be the only Justice from Scotland. In making its recommendations the selection commission will have regard to the requirement under section 27(8) of the Act to "ensure that between them the Judges will have knowledge of, and experience of practice in, the law of each part of the United Kingdom."

The selection commission invites applications from eligible candidates who fulfil one of the above statutory requirements and meet the criteria set out in the Information Pack.

Additional information on the qualifications, the criteria, the selection process and how to apply can be found in the Information Pack which can be downloaded from this page.

The closing date for applications is 5pm on Tuesday 30 October.

Applications should be sent to:

Jenny Rowe
Chief Executive
UK Supreme Court
Parliament Square

Email Jenny